Sienu TV

Sienu TV

AFCON 2023 BEST XI: Adingra, Haller ignored in CAF’s team of the tournament

Tournament darling boy Simon Adingra and important goal scorer Sebastien Haller have been ignored in the best eleven of the tournament by the Confederation of African Football, CAF.

This has generated numerous talking points following the announcement of the squad without the two influential players.

Adingra and Haller had been instrumental for Ivory Coast in their campaign leading to their triumph as winners of the tournament.

Adingra who was voted as the tournament’s best young player was expected to make the list but was strangely left out.

Haller who scored their winner in the semi-final against Congo DR as well as the winner in the final against Nigeria was also left out to the surprise of many.

The TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations Cote d’Ivoire 2023, widely regarded as the best “AFCON” ever, concluded on Sunday in epic fashion with hosts, Cote d’Ivoire completing one of the greatest comebacks by winning against Nigeria at Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Abidjan.

Hosts Cote d’Ivoire, the new African champions, have three names in the Best Xl: Ghislan Konan, Jean Michael Seri and Franck Kessie. Kessie’s goal in the final helped the home side to secure the title.

Nigeria, who came so close, also have three names on the list:  Ola Aina, William Troost-Ekong and Ademola Lookman.

South Africa, who entered the competition as underdogs but marched gallantly to a third-place finish have keeper, Ronwen Williams and Teboho Mokoena. Williams made history when he saved four penalties in one match during the competition.

DR Congo, fourth-place, also had two names: Yoane Wissa and Chancel Mbemba.

The Best Xl: 

With Williams in goals, Nigeria’s Aina and Troost-Ekong showcased their defensive prowess, earning spots in the backline alongside Cote d’Ivoire’s Konan and DR Congo’s Chancel Mbemba.

In midfield, a diverse array of talent emerges, with South Africa’s Mokoena providing defensive stability alongside Cote d’Ivoire’s Jean Michael Seri and Kessie.

Upfront, the striking duo of Yoane Wissa from DR Congo and Nigeria’s Ademola Lookman bring flair and potency to the forward line, complemented by Equatorial Guinea’s Emilio Nsue, whose attacking threat kept defenders on their toes.

Nsue stands out as the competition’s top scorer with five goals, despite his team not reaching the semi-finals.


Ronwen Williams (South Africa)

Defenders: Ola Aina (Nigeria), Ghislan Konan (Cote d’Ivoire), William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria), Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo).

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (South Africa), Jean Michael Seri (Cote d’Ivoire), Franck Kessie

Strikers:  Yoane Wissa (DR Congo), Ademola Lookman (Nigeria), Emilio Nsue (Equatorial Guinea)


Send us your stories today via email at or through WhatsApp at +23320980700

Scroll to Top